Published on April 07, 2015

Sturdy Memorial Hospital Introduces Clinical Ladder Program for its Nursing Staff

ATTLEBORO, MA – Sturdy Memorial Hospital recently introduced the Clinical Ladder Program, a program designed to promote professional identity, research, education, leadership, and clinical excellence within its nursing staff. The creation of the Clinical Ladder Program represents the commitment that Sturdy’s Registered Nurses have to lifelong education and excellent patient care. All worked diligently to create and expand their professional and nursing portfolios.

The Program was designed by the Nurse Practice Forum at Sturdy, made up of nursing staff from various clinical areas, who identified attributes that best characterize nursing excellence. Cindy Fiedler, RN, Chairperson of the Nurse Practice Forum said, “As nurses and primary advocates for our patients, the way in which we deliver care is changing. It is our responsibility to have a framework to support all of our nurses in continuous professional development. I believe the Nursing Clinical Ladder will provide unique solutions for success, as we continue to match nursing practice and skills, to future health needs and demands.”

During a recent program reception, Sturdy welcomed 38 Registered Nurses into its Clinical Ladder Program, including 21 Clinical Nurse II, 14 Clinical Nurse III, and 3 Clinical Nurse IV practitioners; each level represents gaining additional experience and clinical practice. Through participation in further educational activities, involvement within the Hospital and community, and continuously going above and beyond their required nursing duties, all were welcomed into the Clinical Ladder Program and recognized for their dedication.

Sturdy’s first group of Clinical Ladder RNs are:

Intensive Care Unit (ICU): Donna Anderson CNII; Linda Bartley CNII; Cathryn Brown CNII; Melissa Carpenter CNIV; Kim Cavalieri CNIII; Lisa Darling CNIII; Kelli-Anne Dion CNIII; Donna Graziosi CNII; Laura Saltsam CNIII; Dawn Simmons CNIII                 

Emergency Care Center (ECC): Victoria Bayly CNII; Kimberly Eames CNII;

Vanessa Laren CNII; Jessie Maser CNII; Jessica Padykula CNIV                

Endoscopy: Dawna Perry CNII

Balfour Unit: Meghan Aldrich CNII; Danielle Malatesta CNII; Deb Weiss CNII

Weber Unit (Labor & Delivery): Jami Amaral CNII; Amy Downs CNII; Kelly Greaves CNIII; Adelaide Heelan CNII; Kathleen Latourneau CNIII; Kathy Silva CNIII; Kerri Stiehl CNIII

Montplaisir Unit: Rachel Friberg CNII; Gail Goebel CNII; Krystal Hilton CNIII;

Kelly Lockwood CNII; Gina Rothemich CNII; Amy Smedberg CNII

Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU): Cindy Fiedler CNIV; Emily Tenglin CNIII;

Jane Walsh CNIII; Maria Whatmough CNII       

The Pain Clinic: Mary Healy CNIII; Barbara Lewis CNIII