Published on January 13, 2015

Sturdy Memorial Foundation Annual Meeting Reporting

ATTLEBORO, MA – Sturdy Memorial Foundation, Inc., the not-for-profit parent organization of Sturdy Memorial Hospital, held its annual meeting last evening at Highland Country Club in Attleboro. The agenda included the recognition of two Board members whose terms were completed; Board of Directors Chair Timothy O’Neill, who has been a member of the Board for 11 years, and Thomas Sprague, who has served on the Board for the past nine years.      

Donna Kimmel, who is the Senior Vice President of Human Resources for GTECH, is slated to become the next Chair of the Board of Directors, pending a formal vote to be taken at the January Board of Directors Meeting.  Three new Board members were elected – Thomas Noel, Dennis Kelly, and Dwayne Demond.  In addition, 10 members of the community were elected to the Foundation.  

Members and guests attending the meeting were told that the Hospital had maintained its positive financial status for the 29th consecutive year. The Hospital's bottom line from current year operations was $12,518,082. Operating expenses for the year totaled $149 million, which included $5.5 million in uncompensated care for services provided to those who could not or would not pay. 

In his first annual report as President and Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Bruce Auerbach highlighted noteworthy Hospital accomplishments from Fiscal Year 2014.  He noted that Sturdy is well-positioned to respond to the always evolving changes in health care and that the Hospital is financially secure due to years of fiscal responsibility.  He also expressed gratitude to the organization’s staff and supporters for their contributions to the fiscal year’s success, and conveyed great satisfaction at being able to provide area residents with excellent, high quality health care.     

 2015 New Members of the Sturdy Memorial Foundation

Paul Bellham

Benjamin Cavallo

Jane Coogan, Esq.

Sheila Cunningham

Angela Davis

Julie Hall

Dennis Hanno

Robin McDonald

Colleen McGahan, Esq.

Kathy Trier